Groovy Cupcakes

My husband is turning sixty this month! I am throwing him a big celebration so I made rainbow tie dye cupcakes. Get it tie dye…sixties……groovy!

These cupcakes are cute as a button. Cute as a button, I tell you! I’m sorry, I couldn’t help myself. I found them through pinterest. Yes I am a big fan of pinterest …..please follow me  at…http://pinterest.com/sheri_forell/

Even though each is just a sweet and simple cupcake, tinting the batter 5 different colors and mixing them tie dye style makes them so fun and unique. I guarantee if you took a dozen to work or to a party, they’d be a hit.

Here’s how to make them.

Start by following the directions on your favorite cake mix for white cake. Divide the batter into five separate small bowls. Now you can do this however many colors you want. At this point you can even make them just rainbow cupcakes by doing them in rainbow color order and just making them a stripe.

Tint each bowl with a few drops of food coloring or gel: one red, one blue, one green, one orange one purple….I used the regular colors plus the neon colors they now sell. Try not to over mix your batter here, because you’ll develop the gluten in the flour and be left with a very tough, bread-like cupcake. Incorporate the color in the fewest stirs possible.

Drop spoonfuls of each colored batter into the cupcake liners until they are 3/4 full. Try and make each even as I had trouble with this and had some bigger than others.

When all the liners are filled, use a toothpick to swirl the batter a few times. Use a clean toothpick for each cupcake so that you keep the colors clean, and don’t swirl too much or you’ll mix the colors into a brown tone.

IMAG0401

Bake them according to the instructions on your cupcake recipe. Frost with whatever you like…I picked chocolate because that is what my hubby likes…white might be better to see the colors.IMAG0403

There you have it tie dye cupcakes…get it sixties/tie dye!!!  Groovy!

Have you ever made something special for someones birthday?

IMAG0408

2 thoughts on “Groovy Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Groovy Cupcakes | 30 Days of Blogging

Leave a Reply

